Duo
By Cisco Systems, Inc. (Duo Security)
Duo is Cisco's multi-factor authentication service, sold in four editions from a free tier for 10 users to $9 per user per month. Risk-based authentication sits in the $6 Advantage edition and above, so the $3 Essentials edition does not include it.
- From
- $3 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- 30 days
Pricing
Taken from the vendor's pricing page. Free trial: 30 days.
| Plan | Price | Charged | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duo Free | Free | per user | For up to 10 users |
| Duo Essentials | $3 a month | per user | Adds phishing-resistant MFA, passwordless authentication, single sign-on and Trusted Endpoints |
| Duo Advantage | $6 a month | per user | Adds Risk-Based Authentication, session theft protection and Duo Passport |
| Duo Premier | $9 a month | per user | Adds VPN-less remote access and device trust with an endpoint protection check |
Costs not in the plan price
- Risk-Based Authentication is listed under Advantage and above, so Essentials buyers pay $3 more per user to get it.
- Licenses come in blocks of 10 below 100 users and blocks of 25 above, so seat counts round up.
Categories it qualifies for
Facts we checked
- Duo's authentication methods page describes approving a login with a tap in the Duo Mobile app and lists FIDO2 security keys. Source
- Duo's documentation says Risk-Based Authentication is deployed through policies for Duo Advantage and Duo Premier customers and steps up to the most secure factors when it sees a known attack pattern or anomaly, such as unrealistic travel. Source
- Administrators can add users manually, run bulk enrollment from a list of usernames and emails, send enrollment emails, and generate one-time enrollment codes that expire after 24 hours by default. Source
- Admins can define separate enrollment and account management policies that control what users see during enrollment. Source
- Paid editions are bought in increments of 10 licenses below 100 users and 25 above 100 users. Source
Contract terms
- Annual contract required
- Not stated
- Minimum seats
- None stated
- Renews automatically
- Not stated
- Cancellation
- Not stated
- Data export
- Not stated
Taken from the vendor's terms.
Reviews
Review collection has not opened yet, so there are no reviews to show. When it opens, reviewers will confirm their identity with a work email or LinkedIn before a review is published.
Who pays us
Cisco Systems, Inc. (Duo Security) does not pay us anything.