CrashPlan
By CrashPlan
CrashPlan sells per-user endpoint backup at $88 a year, per-server backup at $189 a year, and Microsoft 365 or Google Workspace backup at $30 a user a year for organizations under 250 employees. Backups run automatically, restores go to a chosen point in time, and data is encrypted with AES-256.
- From
- $2.50 a month
- Free plan
- No
- Free trial
- 14 days
Pricing
Taken from the vendor's pricing page. Free trial: 14 days.
| Plan | Price | Charged | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Endpoints | $88 a year | per user | Shown as $7.33 a month billed annually, or $158 every 2 years. Storage included is unclear: the plan card says unlimited, an FAQ says 50 GB. |
| Servers | $189 a year | per server | Shown as $15.75 a month billed annually, or $284 every 2 years. 250 GB pooled storage per server. |
| Microsoft 365 | $30 a year | per user | Shown as $2.50 a month billed annually, or $60 every 2 years. 50 GB pooled storage per user. |
| Google Workspace | $30 a year | per user | Shown as $2.50 a month billed annually, or $60 every 2 years. 50 GB pooled storage per user. |
| Enterprise (250+ employees) | On request | per user | Custom volume pricing. Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace have a 50-user minimum. |
Costs not in the plan price
- Extra storage on Servers, Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace costs $90 a year per 250 GB.
- A card is required at trial signup, and the subscription starts on day 15 unless canceled.
Categories it qualifies for
Facts we checked
- The server product lists automatic incremental backups with customizable intervals and scheduled no-backup windows, and recovery starts by choosing a point in time from the available restore points. Source
- The server product lists AES-256 encryption at rest and TLS 1.2 or later in transit, with encryption keys that can be customer-controlled. Source
- The Essential endpoint page says automated backups run every 15 minutes and that users can keep unlimited versions of files. Source
- The pricing page contradicts itself on endpoint storage: the plan card says unlimited cloud storage, while an FAQ entry says endpoint subscriptions include 50 GB. Source
- Organizations with 250 or more employees get custom pricing, and storage can sit in CrashPlan's cloud, Azure, AWS, Wasabi, Backblaze or the customer's own S3. Source
Security and compliance
- SOC 2
- Not stated
- ISO 27001
- Not stated
- GDPR
- Not stated
- HIPAA
- Not stated
- Single sign-on
- Not stated
Taken from the vendor's security page.
Contract terms
- Annual contract required
- No
- Minimum seats
- None stated
- Renews automatically
- Yes
- Cancellation
- The trial converts to a paid subscription on day 15 unless canceled before then.
- Data export
- Restores to the original or an alternate location, stated as unlimited for servers.source
Taken from the vendor's terms.
Reviews
Review collection has not opened yet, so there are no reviews to show. When it opens, reviewers will confirm their identity with a work email or LinkedIn before a review is published.
Who pays us
CrashPlan does not pay us anything.