Helcim
By Helcim Inc.
Helcim is a merchant account and gateway that prices card payments as interchange plus a markup that falls as monthly volume rises, from 0.50% plus 25 cents for keyed and online payments below $50,000 a month. It lists no monthly, setup or cancellation fees, and deposits credit and debit sales the next business morning.
- From
- 0.15% + $0.15 markup over interchange on keyed and online cards
- Free plan
- No
- Free trial
- No
Pricing
Taken from the vendor's pricing page.
| Plan | Price | Charged | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to $50K a month | No fixed fee, plus 0.5% + $0.25 markup over interchange on keyed and online cards | per account | In-person cards cost 0.40% plus 8 cents |
| $50K to $100K a month | No fixed fee, plus 0.45% + $0.20 markup over interchange on keyed and online cards | per account | In-person cards cost 0.35% plus 7 cents |
| $100K to $500K a month | No fixed fee, plus 0.35% + $0.20 markup over interchange on keyed and online cards | per account | In-person cards cost 0.25% plus 7 cents |
| $500K to $1M a month | No fixed fee, plus 0.25% + $0.15 markup over interchange on keyed and online cards | per account | In-person cards cost 0.20% plus 6 cents |
| $1M to $5M a month | No fixed fee, plus 0.15% + $0.15 markup over interchange on keyed and online cards | per account | In-person cards cost 0.15% plus 6 cents. Above $5M a month, contact sales |
Costs not in the plan price
- Interchange and card scheme costs are passed through on top of the markup and change in April and October.
- Recurring payments add 0.4% per transaction.
- ACH and EFT-PAD payments cost 0.5% plus 25 cents, capped at $6, with 0.05% more on amounts over $25,000, and a rejected ACH payment costs $5.
- A lost chargeback costs $15.
- Refunds carry no added fee, but the original processing fees are not returned.
- Card readers cost $199 and the Smart Terminal costs $349, or $32 a month for a year.
Categories it qualifies for
Facts we checked
- HelcimPay.js supports credit cards, ACH payments in the United States and Google Pay. Source
- Fraud Defender scores each online, customer-initiated payment from 1.0 (high risk) to 10.0 (low risk) using seven factors, including CVV, address verification, IP location and card BIN country. Source
- Auto-void settings can cancel payments that fail an address check or fall below a score threshold, and a voided transaction cannot be un-voided. Source
- Helcim says it is a Level 1 PCI-DSS compliant service provider. Source
- Credit and debit sales are deposited the next business morning, and a lost chargeback costs $15 while a won one costs nothing. Source
Security and compliance
- SOC 2
- Not stated
- ISO 27001
- Not stated
- GDPR
- Not stated
- HIPAA
- Not stated
- Single sign-on
- Not stated
Taken from the vendor's security page.
Contract terms
- Annual contract required
- No
- Minimum seats
- None stated
- Renews automatically
- Not stated
- Cancellation
- The pricing page lists no cancellation fee and no contracts.
- Data export
- Card and customer data migration is free, per the pricing page.
Taken from the vendor's terms.
Reviews
Review collection has not opened yet, so there are no reviews to show. When it opens, reviewers will confirm their identity with a work email or LinkedIn before a review is published.
Who pays us
Helcim Inc. does not pay us anything.
Compare with other payment processing products
- AdyenFrom 0% + $0.40 $0.13 processing fee plus $0.27 method fee
- AirwallexFrom $12 a month
- BraintreeFrom 0.75% standard schedule, capped at $5.00 per transaction
- Checkout.comPrice on request
- MollieFrom 1.8% plus 0.25 euro per transaction; listed in euros, not converted
- PayPal Checkout and Card PaymentsFrom 0.49% + $0.39 on top of interchange and scheme costs passed through