Kimai
By Kevin Papst
Kimai is open-source time tracking that a business can host for free, or rent as Kimai Cloud at €2.99 or €3.99 per user a month on annual billing, excluding tax. Both cloud plans include invoicing, Cloud Professional adds monthly timesheet approval, and the cloud is hosted in Germany.
- From
- €2.99 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- 30 days
Pricing
Taken from the vendor's pricing page. Free trial: 30 days.
| Plan | Price | Charged | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Self-hosted | Free | per server | Open source; you run the server, and first-party plugins are priced separately |
| Cloud Standard | €2.99 a month | per user | Billed annually, excluding tax; €3.99 on monthly billing. No USD price is published |
| Cloud Professional | €3.99 a month | per user | Billed annually, excluding tax; €4.99 on monthly billing. Adds monthly timesheet approval; single sign-on and kiosk need annual billing |
Costs not in the plan price
- Cloud prices are in euros and exclude tax. Kimai publishes no USD price.
- On self-hosted Kimai, the first-party Working hours plugin for monthly approval costs €299 a year excluding VAT.
- Single sign-on and kiosk mode on Kimai Cloud need Professional on annual billing.
Categories it qualifies for
Facts we checked
- Kimai's code is open source under the AGPL-3.0 licence, and the self-hosted version is free. Source
- Kimai Cloud is hosted with Hetzner in Falkenstein, Germany. Source
- On self-hosted Kimai, a free third-party plugin adds a weekly approval step in which a team lead or admin approves or denies each week. Source
- Kimai's post-mortem says Kimai Cloud users were served an expired SSL certificate on May 11, 2026. Source
- Kimai says it has raised its cloud price once since 2019 and kept existing customers on their old price. Source
Security and compliance
- SOC 2
- Not stated
- ISO 27001
- Not stated
- GDPR
- Yes
- HIPAA
- Not stated
- Single sign-on
- Cloud Professional on annual billing plan and up
Taken from the vendor's security page.
Contract terms
- Annual contract required
- No
- Minimum seats
- None stated
- Renews automatically
- Yes
- Cancellation
- Cancel up to one day before the end of the subscription period. Fees paid in advance are not refunded, and the cloud service is sold to business customers only.
- Data export
- Timesheets as PDF, XLSX, CSV or HTML, plus a JSON API on both cloud plans.source
Taken from the vendor's terms.
Reviews
Review collection has not opened yet, so there are no reviews to show. When it opens, reviewers will confirm their identity with a work email or LinkedIn before a review is published.
Who pays us
Kevin Papst does not pay us anything.