Square Payroll
By Square Payroll
Square Payroll costs $35 a month plus $6 per person paid for full-service payroll, or $6 per person a month for contractor-only payroll. It files federal and state payroll taxes, and says there are no long-term contracts. Workers comp, health insurance and 401(k) are add-ons with prices not shown on the pricing page.
- From
- $6 a month plus a $35 monthly base fee
- Free plan
- No
- Free trial
- No
Pricing
Taken from the vendor's pricing page.
| Plan | Price | Charged | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full-service payroll | $6 a month | per person paid | Includes federal and state tax filings and year-end W-2 and 1099-NEC filings |
| Contractor-only payroll | $6 a month | per person paid | No base fee listed |
Costs not in the plan price
- Mailed paper W-2s and 1099s cost an annual $3 per mailed form; digital delivery is included.
- Workers comp, paid amendment services, health insurance and 401(k) are add-ons, and the pricing page shows no prices for them.
Categories it qualifies for
Facts we checked
- Square says payroll must be processed by 8 p.m. PT for employees to receive direct deposit on payday. Source
- Timecards from Square POS or the Square Team App can be imported straight into payroll. Source
- Square Payroll for Contractors generates, prepares and files Form 1099-NEC online. Source
- Health insurance comes through partner SimplyInsured and 401(k) plans through partner Vestwell. Source
Contract terms
- Annual contract required
- No
- Minimum seats
- None stated
- Renews automatically
- Not stated
- Cancellation
- The product page says there is no commitment, cancel anytime, and no long-term contracts.
- Data export
- Not stated
Taken from the vendor's terms.
Reviews
Review collection has not opened yet, so there are no reviews to show. When it opens, reviewers will confirm their identity with a work email or LinkedIn before a review is published.
Who pays us
Square Payroll does not pay us anything.