Amazon SES
By Amazon Web Services, Inc.
Amazon Simple Email Service sends through an API or an SMTP interface and charges $0.10 per 1,000 outbound emails pay as you go. Bounce and complaint data arrives through notifications or event publishing, and you build your own log views from that data.
- From
- $0.10 a month
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- No
Pricing
Taken from the vendor's pricing page.
| Plan | Price | Charged | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pay as you go | $0.10 a month | per 1,000 outbound emails | Attachments cost $0.12 per GB sent |
| Essentials | $0.16 a month | per 1,000 emails, first 10 million a month | No fixed fee listed. Falls to $0.14 above 10 million and $0.11 above 100 million |
| Pro | $0.22 a month | per 1,000 emails, first 10 million a month | Fixed fee per account per region per month |
| Enterprise | $0.23 a month | per 1,000 emails, first 10 million a month | Fixed fee per account per region per month |
Costs not in the plan price
- Standard dedicated IPs cost $24.95 a month per IP.
- Inbound email costs $0.10 per 1,000 emails.
- New AWS customers get up to $200 in credits. The free plan lasts 6 months, and credits must be used within 12 months of account creation.
- Event publishing to CloudWatch carries separate charges.
Categories it qualifies for
Facts we checked
- SES documents three ways to send: the console for tests, the SMTP interface, and the API. Source
- Event publishing reports sends, deliveries, opens, clicks, bounces, complaints and rejects with details on each event, through CloudWatch, Amazon Data Firehose or SNS, and extra charges apply. Source
- Accounts started after November 25, 2019 use the account-level suppression list for bounces and complaints by default, and only hard bounces are added to it. Source
- Gmail does not provide complaint data to SES, so a recipient who uses the Gmail Spam button is not added to the suppression list. Source
Security and compliance
- SOC 2
- Not stated
- ISO 27001
- Not stated
- GDPR
- Not stated
- HIPAA
- Yes
- Single sign-on
- Not stated
Taken from the vendor's security page.
Contract terms
- Annual contract required
- No
- Minimum seats
- None stated
- Renews automatically
- Not stated
- Cancellation
- The customer may end the agreement for any reason by notifying AWS and closing the account. Either side can end it for a material breach left uncured 30 days after notice. No minimum term is stated.
- Data export
- For 30 days after termination AWS does not remove customer content because of the termination, and it can be retrieved only if all amounts due are paid.
Taken from the vendor's terms.
Reviews
Review collection has not opened yet, so there are no reviews to show. When it opens, reviewers will confirm their identity with a work email or LinkedIn before a review is published.
Who pays us
Amazon Web Services, Inc. does not pay us anything.